New Chair Appointed to Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta


WCB Alberta board member Grace Thostenson has been appointed as the new chair of the board.


Thostenson, a member of the WCB Alberta board since 2012, is a graduate of the Labour College of Canada. She also holds certificates in human resource management and job evaluation, as well as designations as a Chartered Professional in Human Resources and a compensation management specialist.

“As a current member of the board,” says Christina Gray, Alberta Minister of Labour, “Grace’s experience and familiarity with Alberta’s system will ensure the WCB continues to operate at a high level for the benefit of all Albertans.”

“And thank you,” she emphasises, “to outgoing chair E. James Kindrake for his service, leadership and dedication to the WCB.”

The Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta‘s board of directors is comprised of the chair and nine members: three representing the interests of the general public, three the employers, and three the workers of Alberta.

The new chair was selected through the province’s open, transparent appointment process, and by a balanced committee including employer and worker representatives.

Thostenson is the vice-president of the Alberta Federation of Labour and has been a business manager of the United Utility Workers’ Association for the past 17 years.